Design Team Selection Committee

The Design Team Selection Committee consists of the foundation’s leadership and a diverse group of architecture and memorial design experts who will advise the foundation on the final selection of a design team for the Fallen Journalists Memorial. Committee members include Milton Curry, Joe Day, Paul Goldberger, Alan Harwood, Blair Kamin, Mia Lehrer and Eden Rafshoon.  Read their bios below.

Milton Curry

Milton S. F. Curry is Professor of Architecture at the University of Southern California School of Architecture. He is editor/founder of CriticalProductive, a peer-reviewed academic journal on architecture, urbanism and cultural theory; and principal of MiltonCurry ProjectStudio – a multidisciplinary design /consulting agency. Milton Curry is an accomplished academic leader, scholar and designer – he obtained his Master in Architecture II degree with distinction from Harvard Graduate School of Design in 1992 and his Bachelor of Architecture degree from Cornell University in 1988.

Read more about Milton Curry here.

Joe Day

Joe Day is a designer and architectural theorist in Los Angeles, where he leads Deegan-Day Design LLC and serves on the design and history/theory faculty at SCI-Arc. In both his design and writing, Day examines the intersections of contemporary art, urbanism and architecture as visual disciplines. He serves on the Board of Trustees at SCI-Arc, and as a Director at the W.M. Keck Foundation.

Read more about Joe Day here.

Paul Goldberger

Paul Goldberger is the New School’s Joseph Urban Professor of Design and the former Architecture Critic for both The New Yorker and The New York Times, where in 1984 his architecture criticism was awarded the Pulitzer Prize. An active lecturer on architecture, planning and historic preservation around the country, Paul Goldberger has also served as an advisor on architect selection and design to many organizations and institutions including the Barack Obama Foundation, the New York Public Library, the Glenstone Museum, and Lincoln Center. One of the nation’s most respected architecture critics, he has also won the National Building Museum’s Vincent Scully Prize, the President’s Medal of the Municipal Art Society of New York, the medal of the American Institute of Architects, and the Medal of Honor of the New York Landmarks Preservation Foundation.

Read more about Paul Goldberger here.

Alan Harwood

Alan Harwood is the Director of Urban Planning and a Vice President at AECOM with more than 30 years of experience. Alan has successfully completed dozens of high-profile projects and has received more than 30 local and national professional awards. Prior to AECOM and its legacy firm EDAW, Alan worked for a public planning agency, an engineering/survey firm, and a commercial builder. He has a Masters in Urban and Regional Planning from George Washington University and a Bachelor’s degree in Economic Geography from the University of South Carolina.

Read more about Alan Harwood here.

Blair Kamin

Blair Kamin was the architecture critic of the Chicago Tribune, for 28 years from 1992 to 2021. Prior to working for the Tribune, Kamin worked for The Des Moines Register. He also serves as a contributing editor of Architectural Record. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Criticism in 1999, for a body of work highlighted by a series of articles about the problems and promise of Chicago’s greatest public space, its lakefront. He has received numerous honors, authored books, lectured widely, and served as a visiting critic at architecture schools including the Harvard University Graduate School of Design.

Read more about Blair Kamin here.

Mia Lehrer

Mia Lehrer, FASLA is president and founder of Studio-MLA, an international landscape architecture, planning, and urban design practice based in Los Angeles and San Francisco. Mia is recognized for a research-based design process that advocates for resilient and just relationships between individuals, communities, and nature. She has led ambitious public and private projects including Inglewood’s SoFi Stadium, Dallas’s Fair Park Community Park, San Francisco’s Levi’s Plaza, Los Angeles’ Natural History Museum and Lucas Museum of Narrative Art, and many urban river-related civic projects in São Paulo, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and around the world. A native of El Salvador and educated at Tufts University and Harvard University GSD, she, and the firm received Fast Company’s 2023 Most Innovative Companies Award and the 2021 Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian National Design Award. Mia is a Commissioner of the L.A. Department of Water & Power and served on President Obama’s U.S. Commission of Fine Arts from 2014-2018.

Read more about Mia Lehrer here.

Eden Rafshoon

Eden Rafshoon is President, Foundation for Art and Preservation in Embassies (FAPE Global), the leading non-profit organization dedicated to providing permanent works of art for display in U.S. embassies around the world. She was appointed to the U.S. Commission of Fine Arts in 1994 and reappointed for a second term in 1998. She has served on the boards of numerous arts and cultural organizations, including the Peggy Guggenheim Collection in Venice, Italy; the Shakespeare Theater in Washington, the Washington Ballet and the Washington Project for the Arts. A graduate of Hollins College, she received a master’s degree in art history from George Washington University.

Read more about Eden Rafshoon here.

Fallen Journalists Memorial Foundation Board

David Dreier

Barbara Cochran

Vince Randazzo

Read more about the board here.